Back to Awards


Please find here the list of all categories that can be nominated for in 2022. To be eligible to enter the QHA Awards for Excellence program you must be a current financial member at the time of nomination and the awards evening.



Any licensed venue which wins the same QHA Award for Excellence category for three consecutive years will automatically be inducted into the Hall of Fame the following year. These inductees are then ineligible to nominate in that same category until two years have passed.  As the awards did not take place in 2020, if your venue wins an award in 2019, 2021 and 2022 this is considered three consecutive years and you would be eligible to receive Hall of Fame in 2023.



Winners in selected QHA categories will qualify as finalists at the 2022 AHA National Hotel Awards for Excellence.  Please note that there are additional costs associated with the National Award submissions.



General Division refers to a traditional pub/hotel.  You may have accommodation as part of your venue, but this is not your primary business.

Accommodation Division is a hotel whose primary business is providing accommodation. You may have a bar/restaurant at your venue, but your primary purpose is providing accommodation.

Metropolitan includes an urban population of more than 150,000 people. Metropolitan includes areas such as Brisbane, The Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Townsville, Ipswich and Cairns.

Regional venues are within an area of less than 150,000 such as Mackay, Toowoomba, Rockhampton, Bundaberg, Gladstone, Gympie, Maryborough, Mt Isa and Warwick.



State judging is conducted by a panel of industry peers appointed by the QHA and comprises a cross-section of hospitality industry experts.  The QHA itself is not involved in the judging of venues to ensure impartiality.

Judges are selected for their knowledge and experience, and for their absolute dedication to the integrity of the awards process. The identity of these persons will be kept totally anonymous. Judges will be supplied with the award nominations, submissions, and photographs for their specific judging category. These person/persons will visit each venue at least once and assess the entire category amongst its peers.

The judging period will fall between Friday 18 February 2022 – Sunday 10 April 2022 the date and time of visit will not be disclosed to the venue.



Three photographs must be included for each award submission. These must be in high resolution format (JPG, GIF) with at least one hero shot of the exterior of the hotel. If applying for individual staff awards, a photo of the staff member must be provided.

These photographs will be used for the main presentation on the evening of the Awards ceremony and must be of acceptable quality.



A formal ‘Receipt of Nomination’ will be forwarded to the email contact provided upon uploading of your files via the QHA website. If you do not receive the receipt of nomination, check your spam folder first, then contact the QHA to ensure your nomination has been received.



When completing the online entry form, please check the spelling and ensure that your venue name is listed exactly as you want it to appear on your plaque, should you be a winner.

The contact email used on the nomination form will receive all the details pertaining to the event, including the tax invoice, finalists notification and ticketing details. This contact may also be used to seek further details about the submission, if required.



Submissions must address the specific criteria as outlined (i.e. a paragraph covering each section).  The submission should also provide supporting information for the judge/judges who will then visit the venue and assess accordingly (e.g. media articles, testimonials etc).

Keep your submission concise and relevant to the category that you are nominating for.

You don’t need to spend lots of money on a submission, if any at all.  Just remember that the judges will only be interested in the content and relevance to the criteria and not necessarily what the submission looks like.



5pm Friday 18 February 2022

Unfortunately, we are unable to accept submission after this deadline.



Why have the award categories and criteria changed?

In 2019, the QHA made the decision to align all of its awards with the Australian Hotels Association National Awards criteria.  This allows QHA’s award winners to better flow through to the National Awards categories on a fair and level playing field with their AHA counterparts.


How can I nominate my venue?

Nominations are only accepted via


What do you expect from my nomination?

Each award category has a standard set of criteria, plus some additional points, depending on the award.  A paragraph per criteria outlining why your venue meets or exceeds the criteria is all that’s required, as well as 3 x high res photos of the venue that you have permission for us to use at our discretion.

An example of a submission can be found here: AFE Submission Example

I am submitting for an accommodation award.  What is required as part of my entry?

In addition to the listed criteria, each venue is required to include one night’s accommodation voucher to be used by the judges.  The voucher can be for your choice of accommodation style.  To ensure anonymity, the voucher must not include any reference to QHA/QHA Awards for Excellence and there must be NO conditions of use (e.g. not to be used on Saturday night etc).


What are the key dates to remember?

Nominations Open: Monday 13 December 2021

Nominations Close: Friday 18 February 2022

Judging Period: Friday 18 February 2022 – Sunday 10 April 2022

Finalists Announced and Tickets on sale: Friday 22 April 2022

Ticket sales close: Friday 27 May 2022

Gala Dinner and Presentation Evening: Monday 13 June 2022


How much does it cost to nominate?

The entry fee for the 2022 QHA Awards for Excellence is  $65.00inc GST per category, with the total fee capped at $195 inc GST per venue (not per group) regardless of the amount of categories you nominate for.  If a third party is submitting an application on your behalf, your nomination form and payment details may be submitted separately.


Will we be notified when we are being judged?

No.  Judging is an anonymous process, and you will not know that you are being judged until the end of the judges visit.


How do I know if my venue has been judged?

At the end of the judges visit, they will hand a notification card to a staff member.


Can I receive feedback if I am not successful?

Yes.  After the awards have been presented on the 13 June, you can request a copy of your judges score sheet.



07 3221 6999