The Australian Hotels Association National Awards for Excellence were held on Monday night, honouring the "best of the best" of Australian hotels. Queensland walked away with an incredible 8 awards across the night. Winner of Overall Hotel of the Year at a metropolitan level, as well as Best Outdoor/Non Enclosed Facility, went to Eatons Hill Hotel. Howard Smith Wharves won Excellence in Innovation, Sustainability and Energy Efficiency Practice. Cloudland walked away with Best Marketed Hotel - General Division. Iris Rooftop won Best Hotel Bar - Accommodation Division. Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise won Best Suite/Apartment Hotel. Porters Plainland Hotel won the much deserved Best Traditional Pub Accommodation. Lastly, JW Marriott Gold Coast Resort & Spa won Best Redeveloped Hotel Accommodation Division.

QHA sends a big congratulations to all our Queensland venues that made the finals, and to those who took home awards!

A record 730 VIPs and industry guests - including Australian of the Year Dylan Alcott - gathered for the awards extravaganza, held at Campbell’s Cove, Sydney Harbour for the first time.

New AHA National President David Canny said the event was the perfect start to a summer free from restrictions for the first time in years.

“Today is an opportunity for the best in the business to come together at the start of what is set to be a bright and prosperous Summer for our industry,” said Mr Canny.

“Nothing compares to the atmosphere, the noise and the sheer joy of being out in a lively pub full of good people, good food and great drinks. Today’s winners are proof that here in Australia we have the best hotel and accommodation venues, operators and staff in the world.

“I congratulate all finalists and winners on providing service to their patrons which is second to none.”

Speakers and presenters at the event included Order of Australia recipient Dylan Alcott who introduced the new Accessibility Award category for 2023, Australian Hotels Association National CEO Stephen Ferguson, event host AHA NSW President Scott Leach – who recently stepped down as national president after an unprecedented five years - and a host of leading industry partners.

Mr Alcott took part in a QandA telling the crowd of the importance of accessibility in hospitality venues.

Another highlight was the induction of Western Australian hospitality stalwart Neil Randall into the prestigious Diageo Johnnie Walker Hall of Fame.

Winner of Overall Hotel of the Year at a metropolitan level, as well as Best Outdoor/NonEnclosed Facility, went to Eaton’s Hill Hotel in Queensland, while at a regional level, the winner was Treendale Farm Hotel in Western Australia.

The best restaurants in the Accommodation Division went to Amara, Spicers Sangoma Retreat in New South Wales, while the Best Regional Restaurant went to Furneaux Restaurant, Tasmania.

The winner of the Deluxe Accommodation category was Crown Towers Sydney & The Ritz Carlton in Perth, while the Overall Hotel of the Year - Accommodation Division went to The Tasman, Tasmania.

Beach Hotel, Byron Bay in New South Wales was recognised as Best Entertainment Venue, while the Best Tourism Initiative went to The Cove, Tasmania.

The prestigious Chef of the Year award on the accommodation side went to Paul Griffiths, QT Melbourne Victoria, meanwhile, Anthony Fullerton, The Gem Hotel, New South Wales took home the honours for the general division.

Peninsula Hotel, South Australia took home top honours for Best Bar Presentation and Service in a metropolitan area.

Hotel Industry Rising Star in the general division went to Sharni Aird, Verandah Bar, Sydney, New South Wales, whilst the accommodation division went to Meg Anderson, Eos by SkyCity, South Australia.


A full list of 2022 winners are featured below:

Employee Excellence in Service - General Division

WINNER: Paradise Valley Hotel, Belgrave VIC (Liam Fisher)

Front of House Employee of the Year - General Division

WINNER: Bar Beirut, Canberra ACT (Soumi Tannous)

Chef of the Year

WINNER: QT Melbourne, VIC (Paul Griffiths) and The Gem Hotel, NSW (Anthony Fullarton)

Employee Excellence in Service - Accommodation Division

WINNER: Cyprus Lakes Resorts, Hunter Valley, NSW (Shaun O'Bryan), Ovolo South Yarra, VIC (Amy Moylan), Crown Hotels Melbourne, VIC (Brad Francis), Crown Towers Sydney, NSW (Lauren Carinci)

Front of House Employee of the Year - Accommodation Division

WINNER: Eos by SkyCity, Adelaide, SA (Siddartha Kaul)

Hotel Industry Rising Star

WINNER: Verandah Bar, Sydney, NSW (Sharni Aird), Eos by SkyCity, SA (Meg Anderson)

Outstanding Achievement in Training

WINNER: Berry Springs Tavern, NT

Outstanding Community Service & Achievement

WINNER: Barmah Hotel, VIC and El Cortez Hotel, Canley Heights, NSW

Excellence in Innovation, Sustainability and Energy Efficiency Practice

WINNER: Howard Smith Wharves, QLD

Best Tourism Initiative

WINNER: The Cove, Tasmania TAS

Best Bar Presentation & Service - Regional

WINNER: Loxton Hotel, SA

Best Bar Presentation & Service – Metropolitan

WINNER: Peninsula Hotel, SA

Draught Beer Quality Award

WINNER: Oriental Hotel Mudgee, NSW

Best Hotel Bar - Accommodation Division

WINNER: Iris Rooftop, Hotel X, QLD

Best Retail Liquor Outlet

WINNER: Devonport Cellarbrations, TAS

Best TAB Licensed Venue

WINNER: Lizards Bar and Restaurant. NT

Best Gaming Venue – Regional

WINNER: Grovedale Hotel, VIC

Best Gaming Venue – Metropolitan

WINNER: Rosstown Hotel, VIC

Best Family Dining

WINNER: Belair Hotel, SA

Best Restaurant – Regional

WINNER: Furneaux Restaurant, TAS

 Best Restaurant – Metropolitan

WINNER: Fleur, The Royal, WA

Best Restaurant - Accommodation Division (Mid-Range – Superior)

WINNER: Mister Percy, The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo, NSW

Best Restaurant – Accommodation Division (Deluxe)

WINNER: Amara, Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Best Marketed Hotel - General Division

WINNER: Cloudland, QLD

Best Marketed Hotel - Accommodation Division

WINNER: Grand Hyatt Melbourne, VIC

Best Meeting and Events Venue

WINNER: Hotel Realm, ACT

Best Suite/Apartment Hotel

WINNER: Meriton Suites Surfers Paradise, QLD

Best Sporting Entertainment Venue

WINNER: Landmark, NT

Best Entertainment Venue

WINNER: Beach Hotel, Byron Bay, NSW

Best Outdoor/Non Enclosed Facility

WINNER: Eatons Hill Hotel, QLD

Best Bistro – Regional

WINNER: Hybla Tavern, WA

Best Bistro – Metropolitan

WINNER: Rose & Crown Hotel, WA

Best Traditional Pub Accommodation

WINNER: Porters Plainland Hotel, QLD

Best Deluxe Pub Accommodation

WINNER: Bermagui Beach Hotel, NSW

Best Mid-Range Accommodation

WINNER: Mercure Melbourne Doncaster, VIC

Best Superior Accommodation

WINNER: Spicers Sangoma Retreat, NSW

Best Redeveloped Hotel - General Division

WINNER: Loxton Hotel, SA

Best Redeveloped Hotel - Accommodation Division

WINNER: JW Marriott Gold Coast, QLD

Best Deluxe Accommodation

WINNER: Crown Towers Sydney, NSW, The Ritz Carlton, Perth, WA

Best Luxury Accommodation

WINNER: Saffire Freycinet, TAS

2022 Diageo Johnnie Walker Hall of Fame

WINNER: Neil Randall, WA

Best Hotel Group Operator

WINNER: Flower Hotels, NSW

Overall Hotel of the Year – Regional

WINNER: Treendale Farm Hotel, Australind, WA

Overall Hotel of the Year – Metropolitan

WINNER: Eatons Hill Hotel, QLD

Overall Hotel of the Year - Accommodation Division

WINNER: The Tasman, Hobart, TAS

Media Contact: Nikki Taylor 0447 956 170